Well I got inspired by an old coworkers, Logan Petlak’s, summary of learning on the exemplar page, so I decided to do a rap. WOW, did I bite off more than I could chew. Trying to get all the content and explain myself while rhyming felt impossible. Also to get 5 minutes when you are saying everything so fast was very difficult. Splicing music to make the song longer was also a new skill I had gained along the way. But what matters, is it is finished! I hope it comes across as clear to you, as it does in my own head. I put the names of all the dance moves I was doing from the 90s because I am weird and had to stay on trend with Prince of Belair song! Toby (my doggo) is obviously the star of the show. It is very embarrassing. So enjoy.

Summary: I start off by speaking about how I have learned about the different types of knowledge and how all are important not just Positivist view of one objective answer. Multiple realities and how students use said knowledge to create their own ideas is also valuable. Then I speak about the learning theories we learned! I demonstrate different technology that fits the different theories. The behaviorist technology that I have used to helps students learn objective knowledge in math and science. This including online learning technology that helped me create lesson videos! Next I talk about Cognitive learning theory and some technology that you could use to foster discussion and allow for that higher level of learning. Lastly for the theories I speak about constructive theory technology that students can use to create new items and ideas! Including, makerspaces and how they foster resilience and life long learning. I also take some time to talk about how I learned about some new assistive technology that I am using now in my classes! Lastly when I was diving into my AI blog I came across this video of machines taking over our lives. So I think it is important we still keep learning and have more knowledge than AI so it does not control our lives.

The next section is the negative side of technology and how there is good but there is also evil! I never knew I had to be weary of new technology! I always knew corporations top priority was making money but I was so unaware that had leaked into education and how this might affect our students. Web 2.0 was a great invention but because everyone can put their own realities and knowledge on the internet it has made it so people take some of this knowledge as objective knowledge when it is not. This has caused a political divide, even here in Canada. Social media has contributed to this as well. Machines are very efficient but not a lot of morality as well.

Not sure if I needed the summary or it was clear, would love any comments or questions, thanks!

Cailen Tribier Avatar

Published by

Categories:

2 responses to “EC&I 833 Summary of Learning”

  1. Chris Brennan Avatar

    Well done, Cailen!

    I am very glad to see that Toby did not only make an appearance, but perhaps stole the show! I loved the rap and all the great course connections! Awesome job!

    Like

    1. Cailen Tribier Avatar

      Thanks Chris!! He did steal the show, lets be honest! I am glad that my concepts from the course came across. When you are working on something for so long sometimes it is clear to you but unsure if it was clear to others, thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started