Productivity Suites are programs to help people create, organize, and present items. In education teachers use these to create documents, activities, presentation, and worksheets. Students in high school anyway, use these programs for very similar purposes programs like presentations, and differently by writing papers, answering questions, making visuals and more.  

I only thought of these tools as supports for my students and I; tools for success! I am finding more and more students are struggling to write with paper and pencil. Hence, some students do the work digitally by typing or using speech to text on google docs. When they are creating, I love how they can use google slides or docs and all have access to the same document. Makes for more efficient collaboration and group work. Google forms have been a wonderful program I use for exit slips or reflections. They don’t lose their reflection book! It is all saves automatically on their drive. I can upload their reflections onto a google sheets and see them all in one area. It makes it so much easier to mark; I am not hauling around 30 journals. Google classroom has also been wonderful how students can access the material at home when they miss school. The responsibility can be put on them to watch the lesson video,or read the material and try the worksheet at home. It helps me organize my semester as well! One issue is those kids that are already missing school because they don’t have a lot of support at home, or they have a lower economic status don’t have these privileges. They don’t have devices at home or wifi. So, these expectations are too much.

Wow that was a lot of mentioning of google programs. It has engulfed my classroom. Is this a bad thing? Are there issues?

Most definitely, is what I learned after our class this week. I have always wanted to work for people, serve the public and try to make a difference. I chose to be a teacher. I do not have a business-oriented mind, so I never thought about how even companies focused on making products to help people are still just trying to make money. They may disguise this but it is their number one priority. Hence, we need to be weary of Google and Microsoft companies’ intentions, as well as the fine print. A very smart ploy for companies is getting young customers for products. I recently have realised that the reason Scotiabank has great deals for university students, is to get them signed up right out of high school.  I remember liking that I could get points for free movies just for spending money. Twelve years later I am still with Scotiabank; they got me.

Google & Microsoft have been the front runners in technology suites for a very long time. In high school I still was writing mostly on paper, but into university all I had known was Microsoft, so I bought a Microsoft suite for my laptop. I created things on Microsoft publisher and wrote papers on Microsoft word. When I became a teacher, I still use these products for creation. My students as you read above are google users. Google was very smart to get themselves into schools. Kids will only know google moving into the workforce, therefore this is most likely what they will use into adulthood and pay for their products. A technology analyst, Mike Fisher stated for the New York Times “If you get someone on your operating system early, then you get that loyalty early, and potentially for life”.

As of now, I don’t believe Microsoft or Google has ill intent creating products to help students learn and grow, but at the end of the day they are a corporate company. Therefore another concern was around student data. New York Times said that Google says they don’t sell the data. The gmail and information is only collected to use the services . But, Google declined to provide a breakdown of the exact details the company collects from students use of its services. So many parents are concerned and think google should be more transparent about the information collection of their users.

Is it more helpful than harmful? I think time will tell.

Cailen Tribier

5 responses to “Productivity Suites – Get them when they’re young and sell their data.”

  1. erincfuchs Avatar

    Great blog post! I like your reference to Scotiabank and interesting to hear that you are still with them. It really works. I also like your GIF about Google…money makes the world go around, I guess!

    Like

    1. Cailen Tribier Avatar

      Yes I am! It is a lot of work to switch over in my opinion. I also now get great travel points and things as an adult so they have kept me this way. I don’t care about free movies anymore! I also thought about how Sasktel and Telus have student deals and always thought this was just great for me, when I was a student but realizing this may be another ploy for them to get customers when they are young!

      Like

  2. Graeme Gieni Avatar

    I agree with Erin and find the Scotiabank reference interesting. I wonder why companies like vehicle manufacturers don’t try similar tactics to create more brand loyalty with first time car buyers. I used to use Microsoft for everything, but I too have shifted most of my work to Google, especially Google Classroom. It is just so convenient for students and myself to connect too outside of the school and complete work. Great post!

    Like

    1. Cailen Tribier Avatar

      I don’t think a lot of young driver are able to buy new vehicles when they are young, their parents usually make that choice for them or they get a used vehicle so I just think it would be a money reason why they cannot get young clients. That is my guess! If you think about it I think a lot of clothing brands advertise to younger generations to hook them young! Lulu lemon, Nike, Under Armour etc. are examples of starting as an adult brand and moving into to making clothes for children for possibly this reason!

      Like

  3. Navneet kaur Avatar
    Navneet kaur

    Your story about using Google and Microsoft tools in your classroom shows how they’ve made teaching and learning easier. You’ve found that things like Google Docs and Slides help students work together better, and tools like Google Forms make it easier for you to see their progress. But you’ve also noticed some problems, like not all students having access to these tools at home.

    You’ve also thought about why these big companies give their tools to schools for free. You’ve realized they’re trying to get kids used to their products early so they’ll keep using them as adults. It’s like when you got a bank account as a student and stuck with that bank as you got older.

    You’ve raised concerns about privacy too. While Google says they don’t sell student data, they haven’t been very clear about what they do with it. This makes some parents worried.

    Overall, you’ve shown that while these tools have many benefits, we need to be careful about their downsides too. It’s important to keep talking about how we use technology in education and make sure everyone’s rights are protected. Thanks for sharing your experiences!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started